Mason 5 Months

I know this is about a week late, and I know I have so much to cover from Christmas adventures to Mackenzie’s tubes to the big announcement of me going back to work!  But, I’ll start off by giving a 5 month update on little Mason.

The week before Christmas, he finally rolled from back to belly and belly to back.  But, since then he has not been interested in it at all.  He will tolerate tummy time but he has no desire to roll.  He is starting to be able to rotate around in a circle, but he is still very immobile.

He is so precious and he loves his mommy.  In the mornings, he is usually very happy, but by the afternoon he cries and wants to be held all the time.

About 2 weeks ago, right around the time he turned 5 months, I finally figured out his sleeping schedule!  He likes to nap at around 10:30, 1 or 2, and around 4:30 or 5.  I have been very diligent about putting him down in his crib for naps over the past couple of weeks, but it never fails that he only stays asleep for exactly 30 minutes.  The 3rd nap of the day is always in his swing because I’m busy getting dinner fixed.  Or, he sleeps in the car when I’m driving to get Mackenzie from school.  And, honestly the 2nd nap of the day is usually in his swing as well.  He seems to sleep better and longer in it.  Plus, he usually falls asleep while he is nursing which means I’m sitting on the couch.  So, it’s easy to put him in the swing.  I usually don’t turn it on, so he’s just laying there.

Last Friday night I decided it was time to start putting him to bed in his crib at around 7:30.  I had gotten the book “Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child” and it has had some great insights.  Friday night I rocked him to sleep and layed him in the crib around 7:45.  He was asleep when I laid him down but he woke back up.  I left him alone and he proceeded to cry for 20 minutes.  But, he finally went to sleep and slept until 4!  Since then, we’ve had good nights and bad nights, but the past 3 nights in a row he has woken up at around 1:30 and 4:30.  Last night he even added an 11:00 wake up to make it 3 times I got up with him!  Needless to say I’m very tired and I know this needs to stop.  But, I don’t want to let him cry it out because I’m scared he’s going to wake up Mackenzie.  We really just need to get a sound machine in her room.  I think it would help.  Anyway, just as an example of a typical night – last night he went to sleep at 7:30 in his crib with no crying!  Then, he woke up at 11:00, 1:30, and 5.  I nursed him each time and he went right back to sleep – except for the 5:00 wake up.  After I fed him at 5, he was awake but I laid him down and he happily cooed and talked until sometime after 6:00.  Then, he slept until around 7:45 this morning.  My favorite time of the day is when I walk in to get him out of his crib for the day and he gives me the biggest smile.  It melts my heart!  During the day he is usually nursing 4 times – around 8, 11:30, 3, and 6:30.  He can take bottles now, but doesn’t do it on a regular basis.  I start my job on Wednesday so I’m sure daycare will be a big adjustment as he gets used to bottles and we try to figure out how much he will eat at a time.

He is drooling like crazy!  He goes through 2-3 bibs a day because he soaks them!  He always either has his fingers, his whole fist, or a toy in his mouth. He loves Sophie the Giraffe.  His little bottom gums are kinda swollen so I think he will be getting his first tooth very soon!

He loves playing with his toys and he loves to watch Ramsey and Mackenzie.  He also loves to smile and hear himself talk.  If you catch him in a good mood, he will laugh at anything and everything.

We’ve started putting him in the jumparoo, and he tolerates it but he doesn’t love it yet.  He gets bored.  He’s also doing great in his bumbo seat.  He can sit in it for long periods of time, whereas a month ago he could only sit in it for a few minutes before he started slumping over or falling backwards.  He is also getting really close to being able to sit up!  He hasn’t figured out how to put his arms out for support to keep him from falling forward, but I’m sure it won’t be long!

We are going to start feeding him cereal this weekend!  He wore 12 month pajamas a couple of days ago for the first time and they fit pretty well!  He also is still in size 3 diapers.

His hair has finally started growing back in!  He still has all his hair on the top of his head which is really long.  And, now there is about 2 cm of peach fuzz all over the rest of his head 🙂

Since I know that he is the last baby I’ll very have, I have been so sad to see him get bigger.  But, it’s also giving me so much joy to watch him grow and learn before our eyes.  It’s so bittersweet.  I love holding him close, singing him lullabies (Jesus Loves Me, You are my Sunshine, and Rock a Bye Baby are his favorites) and watching him drift off to sleep.  I love giving him baths even though he doesn’t like them nearly as much as his sister did at this age.  He’s not even kicking or trying to splash yet!  He has a natural “little boy” scent that might smell bad to other people, but I love it because it’s unique to him.  5 minutes after giving him a bath and putting on baby lotion, I can already smell his “musk” as Richie likes to call it.  If he is hungry or tired and you put him down and walk away from him, he starts crying hysterically.  He definitely knows when he is alone.  Yesterday he was in his bouncy seat and Mackenzie tried to give him some lemonade out of a cookout cup with a straw.  I guess he got some because he started coughing.  Then, she sat the cup down in his lap upside down.  He started screaming because it was ice cold!  Oh the joys of having two little ones at home 🙂

Leave a Reply

