Mackenzie 20 months

We have had a wonderful past couple of weeks, but that is for another post.  I want to dedicate this post to my sweet Mackenzie who turned 20 months old yesterday.  She is such a sweet girl and I love the little girl she is becoming.  Here is a list of all the fun stuff she is doing!

  • In the past 2 weeks, she has started talking!!  Yes it’s true!!  She came home from daycare a few weeks ago saying “duck” but I think she was just repeating it and not really knowing what it means.  A week ago, she came home saying “mama” and “dada.”  But in the past week she has started saying “uh oh” and “more” at the appropriate times.  She will be playing in the corner and drop a toy.  I’ll hear her say “uh oh” and it makes me smile.  Also, when she wants more of a certain food at mealtime, she’ll say “more.”  I’ve waited so long to hear her talk, and it’s wonderful!!!!
  • This morning we were reading a book and she saw a picture of a lion and said “raaahr.”  That’s the first time I’ve heard that.  It was so cute.  She can also say “woof” for a dog (well really it’s more of just the hard F sound through her teeth).  She makes the motions for a monkey.  I’ve taught her that the bee says BZZZ and I stick my finger out and tickle her under her neck when I do the bzz sound. So now when I ask what the bee says, she just sticks her finger straight out.
  • Of course, she knows everything that you say.  Over the past week, she has become much better about listening and doing what you say.  I can tell her to clean up, and she’ll sometimes cooperate the first time she is asked.  Before, she would just blankly stare at you.
  • She loves to stand on top of her car and watch me when I’m changing Mason’s diaper on the pack and play. She also pushes her car over and stands on it when she wants to play with the stuff in the pack and play.
  • She freaks out if you are giving Mason a bath in the kitchen sink and she can’t see.  So Richie has to hold her up so she can watch.  She is definitely fascinated with him.
  • She is so proud when she gives him the paci and he actually takes it.
  • Her favorite toy right now is her wooden jungle animal puzzle.
  • She loves loves loves blueberries.  She also loves macaroni, pineapple, grapes, sweet potatoes, and anything dipped in ketchup.  She also loves pizza and oatmeal.
  • She still gets her warm cup of milk at bedtime.
  • She sleeps from 7 pm to 7:30 am everyday.  Her naps are from about 11:30 to 1:30.  She will play in her crib for 15 minutes or more after she wakes up which is great when I’m in the middle of nursing.
  • She loves putting on socks and shoes.  Well, she can’t do it herself, but she loves when you put them on her.  She also loves to play with her daddy’s big tennis shoes and tries to walk around in them.
  • She is in 24 month clothes and weighed 26 lbs at her doctor appointment last week.  Of course, she was fully clothed, but she’s definitely getting to be such a big girl!
  • She always gives everyone a big hug before she goes to bed each night, even Mason!
  • She loves singing the itsy bitsy spider and can even do some of the hand motions, especially the sun.
  • Her favorite tv show is Yo Gabba Gabba, and hands you the remote when she wants you to turn it on.
  • She can shake her hair, stick out her tongue, and spin around making herself dizzy.  Her favorite time of day is when daddy gets home and chases her around the living room and tickles her.  She also loves throwing the ball.
  • She sits on her potty, but doesn’t quite get the concept of what to do on it.  But, I’ve gone in her room after her naps several times in the past few weeks and she has had no diaper on, or at least has taken off some of her clothes.  So maybe she’ll be ready soon!!!
I know I’m forgetting so much.  I’ll add to this as I remember over the next few days.
Leave a Reply

