37 weeks! Full Term!

This week has been great, but I’m definitely ready to meet my little guy!  Last weekend, we were busy cleaning out, getting the nursery ready, and rested.  I was exhausted, but did manage a 2 hour shopping trip to Target to get the last items baby boy needs.  Tuesday, my mom came to Charlotte while Mackenzie was in daycare and we got fabric for the curtain, pillow, and wall decorations for the nursery!  We got lots accomplished and she even bought me an awesome diaper bag!  Wednesday, I had really bad contractions all day.  They were consistently 7 minutes apart and lasted about 45 seconds each.  I started getting worried that this was “it!”  But, they subsided during the night.  I was very happy to get relief because they were pretty painful and made me very uncomfortable.  Yesterday morning, we had a doctor appointment and an ultrasound to check his weight.  Well, the ultrasound shows that he weighs about 8 lbs already!  Of course, that’s not an exact science, but the ultrasound tech said she is usually pretty accurate.  It was great to be able to see him and get a glimpse of how he is positioned.  Right now, he’s head down, but looking to the left.  His back and spine goes up my right side, and his arms and legs are sticking out to my left.  This explains why I’ve been getting so many kicks that feel like they’re all the way on my side, not in my stomach.  She said it looks like he has lots of hair, and we saw him playing with his toes with his hands.  When we finally got called to see the doctor, she said I’m measuring 38.5 weeks and I’m dilated 2-3 cm.  However, I’m not really effaced at all yet.  She said that the baby will gain about half a pound a week, so they probably won’t let me deliver naturally if I go past 39 weeks.  Thankfully, I’m already dilating, so they’ll be willing to induce me at 39 weeks so he doesn’t get up to 10 lbs!  But, the doctor said I would probably go before then, so it will be a nonissue.  She even said she wouldn’t be surprised if I don’t make it to my appointment next week!  So, it really could happen any day.  I’m so uncomfortable and it’s really hard and painful to chase Mackenzie around and play with her like I want to.  It’s so frustrating!  I’ve had to resort to lots of cartoons and let her play by herself the past few days.  My mom is planning on watching her on Monday if I haven’t had the baby yet.   I’ve had no real contractions today, so who knows how long he’ll stay in there!

Leave a Reply

