Baby Boy – Week 35

Things have been so busy over the past month or so, and I’ve sadly stopped updating on my pregnancy and this precious baby boy in my belly.  Thankfully I passed my glucose test at 28 weeks!  But, at my 28 week appoinment, I was measuring 31 weeks!  So, the doctor scheduled an ultrasound.  The ultrasound happened at 31 weeks, and he looked great!  But, he’s very big at an estimated 4 lbs 12 oz.  My 34 week update emails are just now saying he should be 4 and a half pounds, so he is right at 3 weeks bigger than average.  At my 31 week appointment, Dr. Vuoung didn’t seem concerned about his size.  She said he’s about 80th percentile in size. She said they may induce me at 39 weeks if my cervix looks like it will be able to be induced.  At my 34 week appointment, I was oddly measuring right on track, so maybe he’s slowing down in growth.  We were about to leave for the beach, so I had her check my cervix.  It was closed and long.  I was worried a little because my contractions had been pretty strong over the past few weeks.  But nothing has been regular, and some days I don’t have as many as others.  But, when the contractions happen, it’s hard to walk they are so strong.  And, they’re pretty painful.

We finally put together the crib and rocking chair this past weekend, and took down the guest bed to make room for the baby furniture.  I can’t believe I have 2 cribs in my house!  It’s becoming real and we are getting excited!  Baby Meads is very active and he loves to kick and move around.  He takes full advantage of my entire belly and loves to kick me all the way over on my left side.  My belly moves all around when he is in an active mood, which is crazy to watch.

Last week when we were at the beach, the swelling really kicked up a notch.  I had been swelling around my ankles for a couple of months, but now the swelling is taking over my entire foot, ankle, and up my leg.  Today I was able to prop my feet up most of the day, so the swelling didn’t get bad at all.  But, if I’m on my feet or spend a lot of time in the car, the swelling gets bad and uncomfortable.  My heartburn has been insane, as well.  I have to take zantac and tums everyday or the pain is unbearable.  Richie tells me that I am snoring a lot, but hopefully that will go away when I have the baby like it did with Mackenzie.

We had a wonderful baby shower in Tarboro this past weekend.  We got lots of really nice clothes and we were so touched by the outpouring of love.  Mackenzie had a blast at the shower too.  She ran around the large fellowship hall and got to eat yummy cake!

I can’t believe I have less than 6 weeks to go until my due date.  This is all so bittersweet because I know this is the last time I will be pregnant.  I love being so close to my baby and feeling him move.  I will miss having him in my belly, but I can’t wait to meet him and watch him grow up.

 

Leave a Reply

