Quick Update

Ok, so I don’t know how quick this is going to be since it’s been a month since my last update, but here it goes! 

  • Last night, Mackenzie clapped for the first time!  So cute… I will try to get it on video tonight.  I’m so excited because I have been trying for weeks and weeks to get her to do it. 
  • Her left top tooth popped through the day after Thanksgiving, and her right top tooth appeared this past Sunday Dec 5th! 
  • Let me back WAY up to where I left off with my last post.  The trip to Las Vegas was wonderful!  Of course, I missed my baby like crazy, but she had lots of fun with her grandparents and nothing bad happened while we were away.  Of course, the night before we left, she refused to go to sleep at bedtime, and then was up for almost an hour during the night.  I almost backed out of the trip, but we went anyway and everything worked out fine. 
  • When we got back, on November 11th she went from crawling/laying down to sitting up!  It was a big deal for me because I had been wondering when she would figure that out. 
  • One of her favorite things to do since she’s been pulling up is to pull all the DVDs off the shelf.  Also, we’ve had to get outlet covers because she loves sticking her fingers in them. 
  • 2 nights ago, I cut her pinky finger with the clippers.. it bled and my heart broke.  I felt so so so bad.  Note to self – do not try to cut a squirmy little girl’s finger nails.  Wait until she is asleep!
  • She loves loves loves to feed herself.  She tries to grab the spoon out of my hands when I’m feeding her, which has led to lots of spills and messes! 
  • The weekend before thankgsiving, we were at my parents’ house and we fed Mackenzie some banana.. she loved it.  Now that is one of her favorite foods.  Another thing she loves is to be given water out of a straw (we dip the straw in the water and then cover the top with our finger). 
  • On Nov 21st, she learned how to push her little ride-on car backward with her feet while she was riding it.  So cute!  She still hasn’t figured out how to push it forward.  But, she does great pushing it forward when she’s standing up and walking!
  • This week she has really started to stand on her own.  It’s only for 1 or 2 seconds, but she’s getting more steady on her feet.  On Monday night during bath time, she had pulled up on the side of the bathtub and grabbed two shampoo bottles, one in each hand.  And was just standing there!  I’m sure if she had realized she wasn’t holding onto anything she would have fallen.  I grabbed her and made her sit down because it scared me since she was in the bathtub!
  • Her Aunt Beebe gave her a Mickey Mouse Santa Jack in the Box for Christmas, and when she first got it at Thanksgiving, she would laugh and laugh when Mickey would pop up!
  • She’s definitely a mommy’s girl.  She reaches for me and loves for me to hold her. 
  • She’s getting super ticklish, and daddy knows the perfect way to tickle her to make her cackle and laugh so hard.
  • On Sunday, Nov 21st, Mackenzie and I went shopping and to Target.  Well, I shouldn’t have added Target to the end of our shopping trip because she was over it.  She had her first meltdown in a public place.  I was holding her with one arm and pushing the cart with the other.  It was a nightmare!  Every time I tried to put her back in the cart, she cried!
  • Still no words, but we’re working on it!  A few weeks ago, on Nov 21st, when I was getting her out of her high chair, she said “mama” but I’m sure it was just a coincidence because she hasn’t done it since then.  Of course she babbles mamama and dadada all the time, but doesn’t know what they mean.
  • Diaper changes and dressing are a major challenge now because she hates to be on her back and unable to move.  My favorite go-to distraction is anything that is not a toy like socks, diaper cream, the new diaper, etc.
  • She has moved totally into the big bath tub now because she is a major splasher!   A few weeks ago we gave her a bath in the sink and everything was soaked when it was over – the walls, floor, our clothes.  So, we knew it was time to move up.
  • She definitely knows her name and will turn around and look when you say it.  If she is in the living room and you walk into the kitchen, she likes to follow you in there.  She’s getting really fast!  But, not fast enough to catch Ramsey yet, no matter how badly she wants to.  It’s a good thing because he still dislikes her and avoids her at all costs.
  • At the beginning of December, we let the daycare start to give her meat.  She is doing great and this week they have stopped giving her baby food at lunch because she eats so well with the finger foods! 
  • The day before Thanksgiving, we took her to the mall to see Santa.  She was kinda in shock and confused at first, but we were able to get a couple of pictures before she realized that she was scared and started crying.
  • Last week, she had a very “painful” time at daycare.  She fell and her top tooth hit her bottom lip and made it bleed, another child bit her, and a teacher accidentally closed the door on her fingers!  But, this week there have thankfully been no incidents!
  • Thanksgiving was a very long and interesting weekend.  We were in the car for a total of 17 hours over 4 days.  Thursday morning we went to Georgia and she had a great time hanging out with her cousins.  However she did not want grandmama or granddaddy to hold her.  But I managed to get a few pics.  Friday we went to Tarboro and she slept for the entire 7 hour drive.  It was great until she was up at 3 am ready to party!  Saturday we visited with her friend Jackson and had a great time even though she loved to grab his toys out of his hands.  He’s only 6 months old so he didn’t mind, but I’m sure she learned that from being the youngest in her class at daycare. Saturday night we went to the Meads family reunion and Mackenzie LOVED trying all the yummy homecooked foods like chicken salad, mashed potatoes and gravy, sweet potatoes, and even some dirt cake for dessert!  Saturday night was awful because she was very restless.  She slept in our bed the entire night, which was the first time that has ever happened.  We were all very tired and ready to come home Sunday morning. 
  • All day Sunday she refused to drink any bottles.  She would cry if you even showed a bottle to her.  We got home about noon.  By about 3:30 I started to get worried that she hadn’t had any milk all day and normally she would have had 3 bottles by then.  So, we headed off to urgent care. Sure enough, she had another ear infection. 
  • 2 days ago, we went for an ear check and she is infection free! I hope it stays that way although she has a cold so I feel like another one might be looming.
  • On November 16 she had her 9 month check up.  The stats are:  weight 19 lbs 8 oz (10-25%) and length 27.5 inches (50%).  The doctor said she could use to gain weight, but wasn’t worried about it.  She looks plenty chunky to me so I couldn’t believe she was underweight!  Other tips from the dr:  give her paci only in the crib, read 3 books before bedtime every night, and start letting her wear shoes.  Also, she has started getting an attitude if she doesn’t like something and the doctor said that is a 12 month milestone so she’s advanced!
  • The weekend after her appointment, my mom and I went and bought her some stride rite shoes – her first pair!  She doesn’t seem to mind them at all. 
  • She is now drinking 4 6-oz bottles everyday. 
  • She loves her pacifier a little too much
  • She cruises around the table and will walk if she;s holding onto something.  But, I think she’s a long way from walking on her own. 
  • Her Aunt Ashlea gave her a leapfrog learning table which she loves. 
  • Gigi gave her a little people nativity last weekend, and we’ve had so much fun playing with it.  Her favorite thing is for me to put all the people in a bowl or in the nativity creche and she pulls them out one at a time. 
  • This past weekend, we took her picture in front of the tree for a christmas card.  It turned out great!  Can’t wait to send one to all our loved ones!

Ok, I know that definitely wasn’t a short update!  I will try to update more frequently next time.  I’m sure no one has made it this far, but this is mainly for my benefit anyway since I’ve been so bad at writing in the baby book!

Leave a Reply

