Update and doctor visit

Last weekend was the baptism and it went great!  Mackenzie looked adorable in her little dress and even wore shoes for the first time.  She didn’t cry, even when we had to wake her up to get her out of her carrier in the middle of the church service.  Unfortunately, she got hungry and started crying right before the sermon.  So, I had to leave the service to feed her.  But, all in all, it was a great weekend spent with both sides of our families. 

After the baptism, when we got home to Charlotte, Mackenzie became extremely fussy and unhappy.  I don’t know what got into her but it was very out of the ordinary!  She stayed that way until Monday night and then just got over it.  I’m still not sure what was going on.  I thought it could be teething, but no teeth have popped through yet.  Thankfully it didn’t last long and now she’s back to her cheery happy self. 

Friday I picked Mackenzie up from daycare to take her to her 6 month checkup at the pediatrician.  When I got there, the teacher Ms. Wagner said that she rolled over during both of her naps in her crib that day so she got an “I can roll” sign up on her crib!  It was a big day because that means if she falls asleep on her stomach in her crib, she can stay that way because she can roll over. 

The doctor appointment went very well.  First, the nurse weighed and measured her.  She weighs 16 lbs 10 oz and is 26 inches long.  2 months ago she was 25.5 inches long, so she has finally slowed down her growth.  She is 65th percentile in both.  And her head is at the 50th percentile so she’s perfect!  The nurse left and then we had to wait for the doctor for almost 45 minutes!  Luckily Mackenzie was VERY entertained with the paper on the exam table.  I layed her on the table and let her just go to town tearing it up and drooling all over it.  While we were in the waiting room, I had to fill out a questionairre about what she was doing – such as rolling over, reaching for things, babbling with consonant sounds at the beginning of her words, reacting to her reflection in the mirror, grabbing things with one or both hands, etc.  Once the doctor finally arrived, she said that Mackenzie is on an 8 month level according to how I answered things.  That was great news!  I asked the doctor in depth about the reluctance to eat anything besides cereal and oatmeal.  She said not to stress about it.  She said we could try the stage 2 foods to see if it’s a texture thing.  Also, we could try puffs, well-done english peas, or other soft finger foods if we wanted to.  But, she said that Mackenzie would come around eventually… at least I hope!  I don’t know if I can stand a picky eater!  The doctor gave me TONS of free samples of formula and even said that it was fine to buy the generic brands.  She said they are all the same.  All in all, it was a great visit, besides the shots of course.  She got 3 shots and an oral vaccine.  She did surprisingly really well with just about 5-10 seconds of crying.  But, the crying wasn’t the screams of terror like last time. 

Saturday morning, we took her to Portrait Innovations to get her 6 month pictures made.  She was a dream and was super happy the entire time.  They turned out great!  The rest of the weekend, we just stayed around the house and spent quality time together as a family.  Mackenzie is definitely a pro at sitting up now.  But, the skill she is the best at is rolling over.  You can lay her on her back and look away for a second and she’s on her stomach.  She definitely prefers to be on her stomach to play.  I guess she can reach for things, move around on the floor easier, and see things better.  She babbles and coos all the time, and if she makes eye contact with you and you smile at her, she always give you a huge grin back.  It’s adorable.

About 2 weeks ago, she really got the hang out sleeping 12 hours straight.  But, the past 2 nights, she has been awake at least 3 times each night.  During the first outburst, I feed her, but after that, I know she can’t be hungry anymore.  So, I pick her up, rock her back to sleep, and she’s fine for another couple of hours.  I don’t know what is causing this, but I hope it’s just teething and will go away soon. I just hope I don’t allow her to develop bad habits in the process.  I just can’t bear to let her cry it out, especially if I know she could be hurting.  Richie never hears her, so all the burden falls on me.  But, I don’t see the point in waking him up to get her if I’m already awake.  So, hopefully that will improve soon!  I had gotten used to my good 8 hours of sleep, so I’m a little groggy and in a fog today!

Leave a Reply

