She’s here!

Mackenzie Mae Meads made her entrance into the world on Saturday, February 13th at 8:48 am.  She weighed 8 pounds 12 ounces and was 20 inches long.  I apologize for the 2 and a half week delay on updating my blog, but things have been crazy with a newborn!  She is absolutely perfect and I feel like I’m watching her grow before my eyes.  She went to the pediatrician on Thursday, Feb 24th and already weighed 9 lbs 3 oz!  I still can’t believe I’m a mom.. and one of the most precious things that has happened since Mackenzie was born is the joy I get watching my husband be a dad.  He’s the best dad ever, and it melts my heart to watch him with our daughter.  He was absolutely amazing during the entire delivery process and held my hand through it all.  He cut the cord and was in tears as he announced our new arrival to our families in the waiting room.  He got to feel her little hand wrap around his finger as the doctors cleaned her up just seconds after her birth.  He took care of me as I struggled to walk, shower, and take care of myself in the days following the delivery.  He is quick to volunteer to change her diapers or sooth her crying so I can have a break.  He calls us everyday from work just to check in to make sure we’re doing ok.  The first day we were home (feb 15th), he went to the drug store to pick up my prescription pain meds, and brought home a valentine stuffed puppy for Mackenzie (and valentines candy for my mom and me).  He took control during Mackenzie’s first bath, and did everything while I took pictures.  When I watch him as he is holding her, looking into her eyes, and kissing her nose, I know that life is perfect.  I could not be happier.

Leave a Reply

