Full Term!!

Yesterday I was officially 37 weeks pregnant, which is considered full-term.  It was a huge milestone, and now I just have to sit back and wait for Mackenzie to make her arrival.  Thankfully, my preeclampsia symptoms seem to have cleared up, so I don’t have to worry about that anymore.  Hopefully, they’ll continue to stay away!

At my weekly doctor appointment on Friday, I found out my strep B test came back negative, thank goodness.  Also, I was measuring on schedule and her heartbeat was nice and strong.  Dr. Vuong felt for her head, and she had to push on my lower belly really hard.  She said that the head is so low, that she could barely feel it.  Great news, because that means she has dropped and is getting ready!!  The doctor also felt around on my belly and said that this is definitely not going to be a petite baby.  She said she’s not worried about her weighing too much, but she’s definitely not going to come out being 6 pounds or anything.  She didn’t check to see if I had started progressing.  She thinks all that is over-rated because it really doesn’t tell you anything.  You could be a couple cm’s dilated for days or weeks, where you could not be dilated at all one day and have the baby the next.

As far as my symptoms, I can definitely tell that Mackenzie has dropped.  I’ve started waddling all the time now, and I feel like my bladder is getting flattened 24/7.  The swelling in my feet and ankles has continued to get worse, but it’s nothing I can’t handle.  In the past couple of weeks, the joints in my fingers ache when I move them.  I feel like I have arthritis!  I think it’s due to the slight swelling in my hands, but I’m not sure.  I do know that it is a common late-pregnancy symptom.  I tried to put on my wedding rings the other day, and there is no way they even came close to fitting.  Mackenzie moves around like crazy, and her movements have started to be really uncomfortable sometimes!  I’m so happy about that because it’s obvious that she is healthy and growing stronger.  She still gets hiccups at least twice a day.  Also, every few days, I can feel my stomach rising and falling like she’s practicing her breathing.

Last weekend, we packed our hospital bags, and I have a list of the things that I need to throw in there right before we leave for the hospital.  Thankfully, the hospital is just down the street, so it’s not a complete tragedy if I forget something.  Next week, we are taking a tour of the labor and delivery ward of the hospital.   Richie has a huge meeting at work on Feb. 10th, so he said that he’d really like it if she waits until after that to arrive.  So, we’ll just wait and see!

Overall, this experience has been the most amazing thing I’ve ever gone through.  This weekend, we received about 5 inches of snow, so we’ve been totally snowed in since Friday night.  It’s been so nice because it’s given us time to just be lazy and hang out together.  I will cherish this time because it will be one of my last memories of us as a family before our life changes forever!  It has been our opportunity to sleep late, take naps, and watch tons of movies without any interruptions.  Yesterday, we took our dog Ramsey outside to play in the snow, and I couldn’t help but be excited about snow days filled with sledding, snowmen, and squeals of delight once our daughter gets to experience it for herself.

Leave a Reply

