Blessed

As each day passes, I feel more and more blessed to have this baby growing inside me.  Everyday brings her one day closer to being ready to enter this world a healthy and beautiful baby girl.  I have 33 days left until my due date, and I am in awe at how fast the time has gone.  But at the same time, it’s hard to remember how things were before we were consumed with nursery decorating, baby gift registering, and tiny pink clothes washing.  Sunday, Richie and I washed a large load of all of Mackenzie’s new baby things – receiving blankets, burp cloths, wash cloths, towels, and clothes.  When I went to clean out the lint catcher in the dryer after her laundry was finished, it was full of pink lint!  I thought “wow, that’s something I’ve never seen before.  It’s always an ugly gray color no matter what clothes are being dried.”  As stupid as it may sound, I hope that will be the metaphor for our life.  After she enters this world, our lives will be filled with happiness, tiny pink things, and lots of bright colors.  We won’t even be able to remember what our lives were like before she arrived, so everything will be a gray memory. 

Yesterday, mom came to Charlotte and we went shopping for baby clothes!  It was really the first time I have gone shopping with the sole intent to buy baby things.  Prior to yesterday, I had only bought one little sleeper for her!  I can already tell it’s going to be hard not to go way overboard on buying cute things for her… I wanted to buy everything I saw! 

Last night after Richie and I had eaten our pizza for dinner, Mackenzie was really moving around a LOT.  I lifted up my shirt and we spent a few minutes staring at my belly as she poked and nudged it around.  Then, he put his hand on it and a tiny little appendage poked up at his hand.  He jumped back like I had an alien in there!  It was pretty funny.  Up until last night, he’s only felt shoulders and butts.  I guess that was his first experience with a foot, knee, hand, or elbow.  She’s definitely running out of room, so I feel every move she makes!

Leave a Reply

