31 weeks

I can’t believe there are only 9 weeks left (Or 2 months or 61 days)!  2 weekends ago, Richie and I had a great weekend doing Christmas shopping, wrapping presents, watching Christmas movies, and working on getting the nursery organized.  Then, last weekend, we ventured out in the December snow storm and drove to Greensboro and celebrated Christmas with Mom, Dad, Jared, and Abby.  It was a wonderful weekend, and we celebrated Christmas a week early with 3 inches of snow on the ground!  We spent the night in Greensboro on Saturday night and drove back yesterday morning.   I cherish those evenings so much… spending time with my entire family.  As I sat in my parents’ living room, I daydreamed of what it will be like next year when my 10 month old daughter is crawling around, too!

Friday afternoon, I was trying to get home from work before the roads got too icy or dangerous.  Richie was at home and had called me to say it was already sleeting pretty hard up there.  Unfortunately, I had to stop and get gas on the way home.  While at the gas station, I went inside to see if they had any rock salt for Richie to put on the sidewalks at our house.  There was an older african american woman paying for her gas at the register, so I waited behind her.  I asked the gas station employee if they had any salt, but he had no idea what I was talking about.  The lady said “honey, you need to go to a hardware store to get something like that.”  I said thanks and started walking out to my car.  She stopped me and said “when is your baby due?”  I said “February 20th.”  She said “come here and give me your hands.  I want to say a prayer for your baby.”  I thought it was kinda strange, but I did it.  She said the most beautiful prayer of blessing over my unborn child.  By the end, my eyes were welling up with tears and I was overwhelmed by the power of what had just happened.  She looked at me and gave me a big hug and kiss on the cheek.  It was honestly one of the most touching and moving things that has ever happened to me, and it involved a complete stranger.  It’s such a shame that our world has taught me to be skeptical of people and hesitant to embrace kindness offered by others.  I had almost said “no thanks” and walked quickly to my car.  But, I am so glad I gave her the benefit of the doubt and let a random act of God’s love to embrace me and touch my life.  Now, it’s a moment I will always remember and be blessed by whenever it comes to mind. 

Yesterday, Richie and I met my photographer friend Rachelle at a park by Lake Nor.man to take some maternity photos.  It was very COLD and windy by the water, but I think they are going to turn out great!  I just want a couple of good ones to put in a scrapbook.  I’ll post some of them whenever she gives them back to me. 

I’ve been feeling pretty good this week.  I have had some relief from the indigestion and heartburn that I have been suffering from.  I haven’t had to sleep sitting up in over a week!  My feet are still very swollen, but I guess that’s just going to be there until Baby Meads is born.  I can tell she keeps getting bigger and bigger.. she’s very close to kicking my ribs (at least I think that’s her feet) , so I expect that to happen in the next couple of weeks.  She gets the hiccups pretty regularly.  And, I’ve definitely started waddling just a little bit.  But, it’s because my hips and back hurt so bad!   One of my co-workers came up to me the other day, smiled at me, and said “You’re so nice and round!”  I don’t know if that’s a compliment or not!

I’m so excited about Christmas, which is only 4 days away!  Richie and I will exchange our gifts to each other on Wednesday night, and then we’ll head to Georgia on Thursday.  I can’t wait to visit with family!  I hope you all have a wonderful and safe Christmas!

Leave a Reply

