Charleston Trip and Other Updates

Thursday night after work, Richie and I headed to Charleston for a quick pre-baby getaway.  I’m going to explain the trip in detail, more for my own record of it.  So, sorry if it’s boring!  We dropped Ramsey off at the kennel at about 6:30 and got in our room at the Doubletree at about 9:45 that night.  Friday morning, it was overcast and chilly, but we started the day by eating a quick breakfast at a diner right next to our hotel.  Then, we took a carriage ride around the city.  Since there are so many carriages that give tours, the city randomly assigns each carriage one of 3 routes to take.  You don’t know which route you’re going to get until your tour is about to start.  We got tour 3 and had a nice time getting acquaited with the city before we set out to walk it by ourselves.  After the tour, we got a cab to take us to the Aiken-Rhett house.  It’s a house from the 1800s that has not been restored, so it was cool to see the house in its original state.  It had a few pieces of original furniture, and we got to explore the slave quarters and stables as well.  From there, we decided to walk back to the area where our hotel was.  We walked down King St. which is where most of the shopping is located.  We enjoyed going in all the high end shops and grabbed some lunch at a local restaurant that we passed.  By the time we got close to our hotel, I was exhausted and my back/hips were killing me!!  So, we went back up to the room and Richie let me take a long nap.  After the nap, we went back out to explore the city some more.  We signed up for a haunted jail tour that night and walked down to the waterfront.  We also went in some of the gift shops and looked for somewhere to eat dinner.  We ended up going to the Noisy Oyster and had some great fried shrimp!  We had a little time to kill before our jail/ghost tour, so we just walked around the streets of Charleston for a little while.  The jail tour was scary, but not as scary as I was worried that it was going to be.  I don’t do well with being scared, so I’m glad that it wasn’t too bad.  The jail was from the 1800s, so it was a really creepy building.  But, the tour guide didn’t tell any really scary stories.  The creepiest part of the whole thing was the walk to get to the jail!  The old historic houses are beautiful in the daylight, but they can be kinda unsettling when you walk past them in a dark alley all alone at night with the old wrought iron fences, overgrown gardens, and random cemetaries that pop up out of nowhere.  After the tour, we stopped by Kiminsky’s which is a dessert bar.  It was packed so we got our dessert to go and enjoyed it in the hotel room! 

Saturday morning, we ate breakfast at a cute old house that has been converted into a restaurant called Poogan’s Porch.  It was yummy!  After that, we walked down to tour a house that had been restored from the early 1800s.  Its “claim to fame” is a free-standing spiral staircase that’s only support is itself.  It’s built with only wooden pegs – no nails or anything.  After the tour, we walked down rainbow row and took our time making our way back to the market where our hotel was.  We decided to try our luck and take another carriage ride tour.  We were hoping we would end up with a different route than the one we went on the day before.  Luckily enough, we got a different route so we were happy that we took the gamble!  We got to see a little more of the city from a different tour guide’s perspective.  When we returned to the market, we did a little browsing through the vendors, and it was time for my daily afternoon nap.  I went up to the room while Richie hung out at a local bar and watched some of the college football games.  He had originally planned to walk to a Piggly Wiggly and try to buy a t-shirt, but it was too far to walk.  I didn’t realize this, but Piggly Wiggly was started in Charleston and the owners still live there.  So, he thought he could find some cool shirts.  After my nap, we decided to get the car and ride around the area to places that were too far to walk.  By that point, my back, hips, and feet were hurting pretty badly.  We drove to the Piggly Wiggly and Richie got himself a shirt.  Then, we drove across the Cooper River Bridge and went to the Isle of Palms.  It’s a beautiful beach town, and somewhere I’d like to go for a vacation sometime.  We also rode down to the battery and watched the sun set over the river.  We got back to the hotel, changed clothes for dinner, and ate at a delicious restaurant called Blossom.  After dinner, we walked around and then headed back to the room to get a good night’s rest before packing up and leaving Sunday.

All in all, it was a wonderful little trip.  We were saying how we couldn’t believe it would be the last trip “just the 2 of us.”  Sure, I plan on going places just the 2 of us after our baby arrives, but I will always be thinking about her and wondering how she’s doing back at home with Grandma or wherever she may be staying. 

Two nights ago as I was laying on the couch watching TV, I felt baby’s kicks getting really strong.  I watched my belly for a few minutes and could actually see it bouncing around as she kicked!  It was really crazy.  I need to try to get it on video sometime so I can always remember it!

Last night when I got home from work, I took off my shoes to find that my feet and ankles were so swollen!!!  I started freaking out, but we were getting ready to go to childbirth class so I just waited to talk to the instructor about it.  She said that it’s normal and to just keep my feet elevated and drink plenty of water.  This morning, they were still a little swollen but better.  After lunch today, I decided to take a peek and see how they were doing.  They were huge again!!! I showed my friend and co-worker, and she said to call the doctor because that doesn’t look normal for a 6 month pregnant woman.  I called my doctor’s office 2 1/2 hours ago but haven’t heard back.  The worst possible scenarios are going through my head… pre-eclampsia.  I may stop by the doctor’s office tomorrow before I head into work just to get them to do a quick blood pressure check.  If this is something serious, I want to know asap.  If not, I want to put my mind at ease.  Thankfully, baby is kicking away inside my belly so that makes me feel a little better. 

By the way, our 2nd childbirth class last night was very informative.  We learned about the 3 stages of labor and the coaches learned how to help us through the labor process.  We learned massage techniques and proper labor positions.  Unfortunately, Richie will be out of town on business next week for our class.  We are going to learn all about medicated labor so it should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

