Almost 26 weeks!

Time has started flying!  I can’t believe it’s been over a week since I’ve written a post!  The bedding finally arrived in the mail last Thursday, so Richie and I headed to Lowe’s to buy the paint for the nursery.  He was so excited to get started that he immediately opened the paint and got to work as soon as we got home from Lowe’s!  After about 20 minutes, he was already frustrated and talking about hiring someone to do it.  But, Friday night after work, he kept painting and managed to get the entire first coat completed.  In the meantime, I was at Babies R Us finishing the registry.  It was the 4th time I’ve been there to update it, and I hope it was the last!!  Saturday morning, my dad, brother, and I went to Georgia for my cousin’s wedding.  We just went for the day, so it was a long and exhausting trip.  But, it was great to see my family and was well worth it. 

Tuesday night was our first childbirth class!  I was a little worried that we were going to be the least pregnant people there.  There were 5 other couples, and 4 of them were due in January.  But, one girl was due 3 days after us.  So, I guess we aren’t being too premature in taking the class.  With the holidays coming up and the fact that the class lasts 5 weeks, I don’t really know if we’ll have another chance to take it before February.  The first class was very informative.  We dove right in and learned all about the signs and stages of labor.  In the next 4 sessions, we’ll learn about medicated deliveries, c-sections, post-partum care, and infant care. 

I had a routine doctor appointment yesterday, and everything went great!  Our baby’s heartbeat had slowed down since our last appointment 4 weeks ago.  It went from the 150s to 140.  But, I’m pretty sure that’s normal.  My blood pressure was good and I measured right on target.  Also, the doctor said my weight gain looked fine.  I had gained 6 pounds in 4 weeks.  Kinda scary, but I guess that’s what is supposed to happen when you’re pregnant!  Overall, I’m feeling pretty good.  My exhaustion from last week has subsided a little.  I have a little more energy and my indigestion has eased off a little (probably because all the chocolate halloween candy is finally out of my house!).  My belly keeps growing and our baby’s kicks keep getting stronger.  I’m trying to enjoy every minute of this pregnancy, but I’m also getting anxious for our baby to be here so we can meet her!  I can’t believe I only have 3 months to wait. 

Tonight, Richie and I are headed to Charleston, SC for a long weekend.  I can’t wait to get away and relax for a couple of days!  Hopefully we can start Christmas shopping while we’re there, too.

Leave a Reply

