24 weeks

I am not officially 24 weeks, yet, but I will be tomorrow or Sunday.  My ultrasounds have varied as far as the due date.  But, I thought I’d go ahead and give a brief update on how things are going.  Last weekend, we had a great weekend visiting Richie’s family.  It’s always nice to go there to visit.  I just wish it was a little closer than 3 1/2 hours away!  We talked to his cousin who is a labor and delivery nurse and I asked her opinion on the H1N1 vaccine.  She said that I should definitely get it because she’s seen 3 pregnant women die in the hospital where she works from the swine flu.  Her story completely freaked me out and I set out on a mission to find the vaccine.  My doctor’s office didn’t have any.  The health department didn’t have any.  I didn’t know where else to look.  Finally, this morning I saw on the news where North Carolina was due to have a large shipment of the vaccine received today.  This morning I called the health department and they said that they have a limited supply of the vaccine, but they aren’t giving any out until they have a predetermined amount.  That sounded like a pretty stupid strategy.  I decided to check with drug stores in the area.  I called the Walgreens near my office and they said they have some in stock!  They got a shipment this morning and were only giving them to high-priority populations.  I told them I was pregnant and they said to come on in and get it.  So, I got over there as fast as I could.  Unfortunately, the vaccines they had received all contained mercury, so I called my uncle who is an OB/GYN to ask him if that was ok.  He said it would be fine and to go ahead and get it.  So, I did!  I’m nervous about it, but I think it was the right decision.  It takes 2 weeks for the vaccine to fully take effect, so I needed to get it asap. 

In other news, Richie and I have been diligently cleaning out every nook and cranny in our house in an attempt to declutter and make room for baby stuff!  We’ve worked at least an hour and a half every night this week after work.  We’ve made lots of progress and have managed to gather enough stuff to have a nice yardsale!  We hope to be able to finish the baby registry and start painting the nursery this weekend. 

 

Leave a Reply

