22 weeks

This has been a crazy week.  As an accountant, yesterday (October 15th) was a huge day for me.  The last big deadline of the year finally came and I have my life back!  So, this whole week has been filled with long days and stressful moments at the office.  To celebrate, I took today off work.  I spent the day cleaning out closets and trying to make room for baby stuff!  

This morning was my 22 week doctor appointment.  It was pretty uneventful, which is always good!  I have officially gained 10 pounds since the beginning of this pregnancy.  I’m very pleasantly surprised and the doctor said she is pleased with it.  The nurse gave me the registration information for the hospital stay and information on childbirth classes.  The doctor told me that I need to start considering which pediatrician I want to choose.  We’re 4 months away from meeting our little girl, and we have so much left to do!  It’s so exciting!  Other than that, I heard the heartbeat and the nurse measured my belly.  Next time, in 4 weeks, they’ll draw my blood to check my iron levels and my rH antibodies since I have a negative blood type.  Then, 2 weeks later, I’ll have my rhogam shot and glucose test.  

3 nights ago, a stranger acknowledged that I was pregnant!  I was paying for my groceries at the supermarket, and I was buying a 24-pack of bottled water.  The check-out lady told me that I wasn’t allowed to lift it.  I said “why not?” and she said “Well, I’ve had 3 kids and I wouldn’t feel right if I let you pick it up.”  After a long day at work, that comment totally made my day!!  

Overall, I’ve been feeling great lately!  I’ve been exhausted due to work stress, but I definitely can’t complain about the 2nd trimester.  I have had some cravings… I LOVE crushed ice.  Also, I’ve been craving peanut butter and hamburgers.  But, overall, my eating habits haven’t really changed.  

Monday night, my in-laws stopped by and stayed the night at our house.  They had spent the afternoon at Babie.s r. us while we were at work.  They gave us several things off our registry!  We got a bumbo seat, a laundry hamper, bibs, washcloths, and some toys.  It was great to see them and so nice of them to give us such nice gifts! 

This weekend is a big weekend for Charlotte and Nascar fans… the race is being held about 10 miles from my house.  I LOVE going to the races and cheering for #99, but this year the doctor said I should stay away because of the loud noise.  The Nationwide race is tonight and the big Sprint race is tomorrow night.  Tonight, Richie and a friend headed off to the nationwide race and I’m sitting at home with baby and my dog enjoying chick flicks and eating cookies!  Tomorrow night, Richie and I are going to see Kathy Griffin and I can’t wait!  If I can’t go to the race, at least I’m getting to see a show from my favorite comedian!

Leave a Reply

