Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day

Today, October 15th, is Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day.  It is a day for us to remember the babies we have lost, as well as to raise awareness for this cause that is often overlooked.  Almost one year ago (at the end of October) we found out we were pregnant.  I can’t believe it’s been a year.  As I went through the pregnancy and the loss, I learned that miscarriage and still-birth are more common than I ever imagined.  You always hear of the happy endings, but no one ever talks about the losses that they have experienced.  On a day like today, I am so thankful that God has blessed me with another pregnancy so that my mind is filled with nursery ideas, baby showers, maternity clothes, and feeling tiny baby kicks inside me.  Even with all these wonderful thoughts, I still haven’t forgotten the pain and the loss that I felt last December.  That baby was a living thing that can never be replaced, and I will always miss it and hurt that it never got the chance to live.  But this child that I now carry has helped me to heal in ways that nothing else could.  Babies are truly a miracle of God, and I treasure every moment I have with my child.  I know how quickly it can be taken away.

Leave a Reply

