17w2d

Yesterday afternoon, I was sitting at my desk at work and I felt a thump inside my belly.  I didn’t think anything about it.  Then, about 5 seconds later I felt it again!  I thought “holy crap, was that the baby kicking??”  This morning, I’ve felt little movements.  It’s so surreal and exciting! 

In other baby-related news, yesterday I started feeling like I might be getting a UTI or something, so I called the doctor and they set me up for an appointment at 9:15 this morning.   I got weighed, and I’ve only gained 1 pound since last appointment.  That makes my weight gain about 3-4 pounds for this pregnancy so far.  I’m pretty pleased with that and pleasantly surprised!  The nurse listened to the heartbeat which was 155!  I asked the doctor if my sequential screening results were in, and she said they were and everything is normal.  She said I have a 1 in 1100 chance of downs syndrome, 1 in 6000 change for Trisomy 18, and 1 in 6000 change for an open neural tube defect.  I was never really worried that something would come back abnormal, but it’s still so reassuring that everything is fine.  The doctor also measured my belly for the first time.  She said that I measured right on target.  I met with a new doctor who has only been at the practice for about a month.  She’s so nice and I think I’m really going to like her.

Leave a Reply

